The Circle Voice

New Fall Sport Captains Named at Banquet

Calmas '18

Calmas '18

Calmas '18

Hang on for a minute...we're trying to find some more stories you might like.

Email This Story

Every term, varsity athletes and coaches gather to celebrate the school’s athletic performance throughout the season. This year’s fall athletic banquet, held in the dining hall November 30, continued the tradition of announcing team records, awarding individual athletes, and announcing next year’s captains.  


There was a new team seated in the dining hall this year. Groton’s volleyball team entered the Independent School League as a varsity team for the fall season. Coaches Shannon Jin and Luis Viacava said that, while many players were new to the sport, the team had a strong season together, and are excited for many more to come. Chiara Nevard ’21 won the award for Most Improved Player (MIP), and Gloria Hui ’19 took the Coaches’ Award for her relentless effort on and off the court. Montanna Riggs ’19 received the ISL All-League award. Montanna and Evie Gomila ’19 will be volleyball’s captains for next year.


While boys varsity soccer had a tough start to the season, they eventually beat St. Marks 1-0 and won the Wiedergott Award, which goes to the team who has made the most significant improvement in points scored since last season. The last time the team won the award was in 2002, and following that season they went to the New England C finals twice (winning the second time). They also moved up into the B division, in which they reached the semi-finals two years in a row. The team’s success this year would not have been possible without crucial individual performances. The Coaches’ Award went to Tim Hoopes ’18 and Russell Thorndike ’21, and Walker Davey ’19 was the Most Valuable Player (MVP). Charlie Pearce ’18 and Walker Davey ’19 made the ISL All Star teams and Max Strong ’20 and Jack Goodrich ’20 were recognized with ISL Honorable Mention. The team’s captains for next season are Walker Pat Ryan ‘19.


Although Girls’ Varsity Soccer graduated six starting seniors last year, both returning and new players came together seamlessly and finished the season in a higher place than last year. Coach Ryan Spring accredited this achievement to the team motto—“no problem”—when faced with their setbacks, as well as the hard work and determination of all players. The team is graduating three seniors, and the Sixth Form Award went to Elle Despres ’18, while Alexa Beckstein ’18 won the Coaches’ Award. Alexa was also an All ISL player, along with Grace Travis ’21. The MIP Award went to Angelika Hillios ’19, and Alison Brown ’19 represented Groton in the NEPSWSA Junior All Star Game over Thanksgiving. Alison and Angelika will be leading the team next year as captains, along with Lyndsey Toce ’19.


English teacher John Capen started his speech for boys cross-country with a quote from Rudyard Kipling’s poem “If,” slightly modified to reflect the ideals of “long, slow distance run.” He went on to congratulate every individual runner for his improvement throughout the season, especially Tyler Weisberg ’22, who won the MIP Award. Thanks to outstanding leadership and teamwork, the team took third place at the Independent School League Championships (ISLs). Paul Michaud ’18, who ran the Groton course in under 17 minutes for his last home race, was awarded MVP, while Sammy Malhotra ’18 won the Coaches’ Award. Both Paul Michaud ’18 and Leo McMahon ’19 were All ISL and All New England runners, and Aroon Sankoh ’21 was awarded an ISL Honorable Mention. Boys’ cross country captains for next season will be Leo and Gus Vrattos ’19.

Girls cross country had a successful season, and coach Michael O’Donnell was especially proud of how the team handled unexpected setbacks. Although the team was missing Abby Kirk ‘19, its number one runner, for the New England Championship, the team remained positive and pushed themselves in the race. The Coaches’ Award went to Brianna Calareso ’18, while Catherine Qiao ’18 and Sophie Park ’19 won MIP for improvements made in preparation for and during the season. Abby was awarded MVP, and was also recognized as All ISL. Abby, Riya Malhotra ’19, and Marianne Lu ’19 will be the team’s captains for next year.

Varsity football came together to defeat many strong opponents, thanks to the teamwork and resilience each player exemplified throughout the season. Coach Jamie Lamoreaux congratulated the team for their work, and reminded them that while they finished the season well, moving forward and defeating more teams next year would be “climbing the harder half of the hill.” The Charles Alexander Award, which goes to a player who exemplifies “spirit, sportsmanship and selfless commitment to the team” was awarded to Noah Aaron ’18 and Greg Segal ’18. Both Bennett Smith ’19 and Ben Calmas ’18 won the Coaches’ Award. Bennett Smith ’19, Noah Aaron ’18 and Greg Segal ’18 were recognized as All ISL, while Clement Banwell ’19, Jacob Kissell ’19, Caleb Coleman ’20, and Brent Gorton ’19 received Honorable Mentions. Next season, Bennett and Clement will be leading the team.

Varsity field hockey’s record did not reflect the hard work and strength the team showed during practice and in games. Every player improved both technically and mentally throughout the season, especially Eleanor Dunn ’20, who won MIP.  The Coaches’ Award went to Alyna Baharozian ’18, and Imani McGregor ’18 won the Unsung Hero Award. Freddie Tobeason ’19 and Alyna Baharozian ’18 were also recognized with All League Honorable Mentions. The team’s captains for next season will be Freddie and Sarah Conner ’19.

Of course, Groton’s athletic achievements would not be possible without the help and support of the Athletic staff and Buildings and Grounds. Thanks to these integral supporters of Groton sports, fall team records set positive examples for the year. But the season’s true achievement was the hard work and resilience that every athlete put into practices, and the teamwork and positivity they channeled into each game, match, and race.


Leave a Comment

If you want a picture to show with your comment, go get a gravatar.

Navigate Right
Navigate Left
  • New Fall Sport Captains Named at Banquet


    Groton’s Flu Season Takes No Prisoners

  • New Fall Sport Captains Named at Banquet

    Artist Of The Issue

    Artist of the Issue: James Hovet

  • New Fall Sport Captains Named at Banquet

    Campus Life

    Getting to Know Ed

  • New Fall Sport Captains Named at Banquet


    A Chapel Talk for Every Sixth Former

  • New Fall Sport Captains Named at Banquet

    Athlete Of the Issue

    Athlete of the Issue: Noah Aaron

  • New Fall Sport Captains Named at Banquet

    Faculty and Student News

    Groton Alumnus Named Crimson President

  • New Fall Sport Captains Named at Banquet


    Changing Places: Experiences on Exchange

  • New Fall Sport Captains Named at Banquet

    Artist Of The Issue

    Artist of the Issue: Daisy Fey

  • New Fall Sport Captains Named at Banquet


    Athlete of the Issue: Paul Michaud

  • New Fall Sport Captains Named at Banquet


    By The Numbers: The Health Center